A partnership with the St. Maarten Nature Foundation was established though representation on the SHTA board. The National Tourism Organization (NTO) was incorporated. The board consists of nine stakeholders from government, private sector, and labor. The SHTA is represented on the board by its president. The Dutch government made NAF 3.8 million available as part of a NAF 11.2 million multi-annual tourism recovery program, co-funded by the governments and private sector of both sides of the island, as well as several airlines and tour operators. The Committee, which consists of public and private sector tourism officials, decides on budget allocation within the approved framework and purpose of the recovery fund. 2001

April 2001 Marc van de Bilt leaves the SHTA.

Layer 1